About The Lantern Send The Lantern a Message Search Our Books on ABE Links Music

About The Lantern

Alumna Diana Morgan Young founded the original Lantern Bookshop in 1977. The store began in a donated space, with donated books and a staff of local alumnae. Over the next two decades the organization thrived and provided vital support to the Bryn Mawr College scholarship fund. In 1981 the shop earned the Helen Taft Manning Award for valuable service to the college.

The Lantern's mission continues to be the funding of education for bright young women. Our work would not be possible without the help of our book donors and dedicated patrons, to whom we are most grateful.

Current president Elizabeth "Libbo" Williams manages the shop and oversees volunteer activity. Ms. Williams retired from the National Security Agency in 1979. Shortly thereafter, she became involved with the Washington International School, providing research services there until 1985.


Our inventory consists entirely of donated materials. Book donations are tax-deductible, and may be made during regular store hours. The Lantern appreciates books that are clean and free of dust, mold, and food or insect residue. Age is not a factor, however the books must be intact, sturdy, and free from highlighting or margin notes. Receipts available upon request.

Although The Lantern carries a wide range of books, we are unable to accept the following: textbooks, law books, contemporary romance novels, contemporary science fiction or fantasy novels, guides to childbirth and rearing/schooling of children, diet books, get-rich-quick books, business or business management books.




Valuation of Books

Collectors should be advised that The Lantern has discontinued its free appraisal service.

3241 P Street, NW - Washington, DC 20007 - 202-333-3222